How to plan a trip with Pinterest

I’ve decided that I want to RidePost my way down to New Orleans this year. I’ve never been to New Orleans, so now that I’ve made the decision to make the trip, I’ve been putting in quite a bit of research to figure out what I’ll do once I’m there. In addition to an obligatory viewing of The Princess and The Frog, Pinterest has proved to be an amazing resource for trip planning. With the help of fellow travelers out there, I went ahead and planned my Nola Adventure via Pinterest – check it out:

Image
You can probably pick up a lot of what I’m hoping to get in on the trip just from a quick view of the board I’ve put together. I obviously can’t wait to experience VooDoo, Creole food, and just walk the streets of New Orleans – especially the French Quarter. One question I’ve always had though is this: Do people actually drive their cars on Bourbon Street? All of the pictures I ever see are when it’s covered in people for Mardi Gras. I’ll get back to you with my findings. I also HAVE to get both a Mardi Gras mask and a voodoo doll while I’m there.

Famous Restaurants – such as Antoine’s and Brennan’s – are on my list, as are beignets from the world famous Cafe Du Monde.I’m really in to film photography, so am excited to get my lens on some of the local plantations that surround the city. I plan to spend a good chunk of the day at Nottoway Plantation, which is the largest antebellum mansion in the South. There are several other antebellum properties pinned to my trip board – please check them out and let me know what I’m missing.

In short, I think Pinterest is an awesome way to start conceptualizing a trip – from the route you’re going to take, to what you’ll do once you’re there, to what you’ll be wearing while you do it. And, since I’m going with friends, we can all pin our own inspiration to a shared trip board, creating a more collaborative experience. Because it’s better to have everyone weigh in, rather than leaving it to one person to plan, don’t you think?

What resources do you use to plan your trips? And what tips do you have for me once I’m in New Orleans? Please let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

